To struggle is to win

Our struggles are not in vein. If we are struggling we are indeed winning. For when we stop the struggle, we stop fighting. My darling friends, let’s never stop the fight to understand God’s inexplicable Love for this world and everything in it. We give in or are consumed when we stop struggling. A break is nice though, right?! 

We endure our struggles for a time, although we may have a thing or two to say to The Lord about the duration of our struggles, yet we survive and enter a time of peace and quiet. 

I seem to make a mistake when I am in my peaceful period. I’m going to try a new route though. Usually, during my quiet time, I start to fill my time with events and things to do, I get back to watching more TV and less self-help or biblical truth rooted books. 

I get comfy within my old ways. Then, when the struggle comes back around… I’m shredded like a rag doll with steak juices given to a pit bull! 

YIKES.

But, Yes. That’s how it goes. I faintly recall God’s promises, but they are fumbled and incomplete. 

I see that it is time for new tactics. God is calling us to equip ourselves for the hard days. **shrugs** He just is I guess. 

We just cannot continue to try to survive on the world anymore and expect to be healthy. I say that to Believers. If we claim Christ for our salvation and peace, and Know that the Holy Spirit is what we’ve got to help us battle these days..then apathy just won’t do anymore guys!

The way the rest of the world is equipping us to handle life feels like a phony answer to the most important question.  The world cannot fill the infinite hole in each of us. 

But regardless of what we believe, we still have a hole. Believers and the rest. We still have sin and death in THIS life. Are we supposed to get beaten down like everyone else who has not hope or doesn’t want any? Or are we wiling to accept the gift of the Holy Spirit? I guess not, if we expect that gift to look, smell and taste like all the other phony stuff being sold in this life. 

The gift of God IN us, is not going to feel like something I can get shipped in two days from Amazon.com. 

Its a completely foreign product more powerful than any age defying eye cream I can pick up too. 

But, the more I expect it to feel like the temporary high I get from the emptiness of what this life (and only this life) has to offer, the further away I drift from experiencing the power of the Holy Spirit. 

My new plan is outrageous and radical (I know): I’m delving into what Jesus and His disciples had to say…and I’m putting those words on my heart-so that the struggle doesn’t swallow me as I swallow more of what the world tells me will “make it all better”. 

2 Corinthians 4:16-18

“That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.”

Leave a Reply

