Resting? Or Not Resting? That is the question.

John 16:33

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

Jesus said that.

No matter how much I pray, or walk the walk of faith, I still have moments or phases of doubt and worry. Even if I don’t admit it: there are signs. When I am uptight, I’m worrying somehow. Whether I really do know what’s bothering this sinner or not, I am worrying. We have been wired by this world we live in to worry, fix, prevent, and solve problems. Sometimes it can be a good thing. A lot of times it is just wreaking havoc on our peace. BEEN THERE.

I’ve recently been doing some internal tweaking (worrying) in regard to my almost 14 year old son getting older and all the good stuff that comes along with that. I’m sad that he doesn’t want to be around me or converse quite as much as he used to. But, this is textbook adolescence, right? He is still my sweet boy, but things are a-changin. We knew this was coming. But, nevertheless, I’ve started stressing about it. What if this, what if that?

Crap. Crap.

:-0

Then I remember. God, I’ve forgotten you. I’ve forgotten that you have YOUR hand in THIS.

You planned these days before I was born. Before my great-great grandfather was born. You KNOW. So, I’m not going to continue all of this, when I know YOU have it.

There will be hard stuff in this life, but I’m taking heart because Jesus did the math- and worked it all out already. It’s all going to pan out, and no matter what, ultimately, I have Jesus fulfilling my well that runs dry…with fresh peace. If I would just let Him.

Leave a Reply

